Laurentian University


With more than 9,000 full-time and part-time students, Laurentian University is a mirror of Canada itself. One of only two bilingual universities in the country, we have a significant Native Student population and a growing number of international students.

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine, Canada’s first new medical school in more than 30 years and launched in collaboration withLakehead University in Thunder Bay, welcomed its charter class in 2005.

Laurentian is growing beyond the primarily undergraduate institution it once was, having added six new doctoral programs over the past three years.

Additionally, the University’s research capacity continues to grow annually, averaging $15 million a year over the past few years. Recently, Laurentian launched the Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation (CEMI) in collaboration with government and industry.

The University also announced plans for a Living with Lakes Centre, which will be the first institutional building in Canada to achieve the Platinum Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification, the highest in the country.

Laurentian includes three federated universities: Huntington University,Thorneloe University and University of Sudbury. We also have one affiliated college: Collège universitaire de Hearst.

A unique partnership with Georgian College enables students to complete a three-year degree at the Barrie or Orillia campuses, with the option of a fourth year at Laurentian in Sudbury.

Today, the University counts 43,000 alumni. Strong in its bilingual and tricultural traditions and with deep roots in northern Ontario, Laurentian University continues to expand its program offerings, research activities and partnerships in Canada and abroad